Pondering my Tomb Kings.

 

The Arrows of Asaph

These guys look a lot scarier than they really are.

I’ve really been thinking quite a bit about my Tomb Kings army, and exactly how I want to run is as a competitive force.  Now that we have 4 books out for Fantasy, I think that a very intriguing cross section can be taken from 8th edition to really see, and understand what sort of game mechanics that are going to be present moving forward.

While I haven’t had the chance to read the new Vampire Counts book, I have seen quite a few comparisons and lamentations out in the world of Warhammer Forums, and ultimately, several people look to my Tomb Kings, and lament their own armie’s short-comings when measured against the Khemrite book.

I refuse to give Cruddace any sort of due at this point, but I really wonder, if when the books are 50% out, if the Tomb Kings feel competitive, I may have to tip my hat.

Strategically, I’ve wondered if a Tomb Kings army needs to play “Inside out”.  Which is to suggest that most armies, seem to want to play either a refused flank, or an infantry center with 2 mobile flanks (gunlines not withstanding).  Unfortunately, the refused flank in its most traditional sense has gone out of favor, because it would rely on heavy cavalry, chariots, and other shock units to endeavor through brute force before turning the flank.  Today’s Warhammer doesn’t really favor a cav versus infantry matchup favorably to the owner of the cavalry at all.  So if a Tomb Kings army were to play “inside out” it would suggest that the chariots, snakes, and heavy cav, light cav, and warkitties would go centrally, and the infantry to the flanks.  Perhaps a nasty unit of Tomb Guard on one side, and two largish bunker units to the other side.  Ultimately, this army really can’t rely much on tactics, because all of the fastest units are in the center, and the flanks, where the tactics magic happens, are taken over by skeletons who move at the same rate as molasses in January.  The strategy seems sound, though, using the grinder units as anvils, and then the flanking foot troops as hammers, where I have mitigated my opponents ability to attack back in any meaningful way, thus rendering crumble a moot argument.  Also, should my opponent commit to my strategy in the same way, inside out, then my superior shock troops (seriously better than everyone but chaos really) can blow up the center, and then it’s flank city.  The problem:  Is expense.  Tomb Kings armies don’t tend to have many units in them. I don’t know if it’s viable.

Lists and thoughts coming on Friday for the “inside out” strategy.

Leave a Reply

